Babies are small

A statement that’s hard to argue with: babies are small. Now, I realize that there is a physical scientific reason for this (i.e. the baby grows from nothing to something, and inside my belly, and has to make its grand entrance into the world somehow), but I lean toward believing it’s for other reasons, too.

For example, he starts tiny to make it easier on people like me. Weaklings. People who, years after high school, have tried to do one honest real push-up (I can do that, we think. I can do loads in a minute. Remember? Gym class? Presidential testing?), and we’ve found ourselves shaking, elbows locked, unable to do more than the slightest of bends. People who shake when they pick up gallons of milk. Yes, us flabby-armed namby-pambies. So babies start little and wee and itty bitty and gradually get bigger, like increasing weights at the gym. A little at a time. Out of respect for their milksop mommies. (Everyone point in my direction. Together now, 1..2..3…”Wimpy, wimpy, wimpy!”)

Plus, all I can think about lately is how tiny this little cutie is, but how much big stuff he comes along with. Crib! Dresser! Changing table! Play pen! Stroller! Carrier! (Okay, these exclamation points are getting annoying. I’ll stop.) Car seat! Bathtub! (I’ve found myself unable to stop. Sorry.) Toys! Diapers! Wally and I determined we’d need to carve out a significant portion of the baby’s closet just for a diaper supply. Is this true?

He has his own room, for crying out loud! This little single-digit-pounder has an entire room in our house. So baby is tiny, but the stuff that comes with him makes up for that. And this situation does not start the day he’s born. It’s already started. According to my sources, my little guy is the size of a medium shrimp this week. Smaller than a matchbox car. A racquetball. Around the size of the pacifiers he’ll eventually enjoy (Wally and I both had mind-farts trying to think of what those things were called. The best we could come up with was “binkies.” I had to look it up. Oh boy.)

Anyhow, the little guy is that small, and yet, he has a lot of stuff that comes along with him. So much so, that my belly has stretched quite a bit already. As of Thursday, I’ll be at the end of my 1st trimester. On to the second mester. So here’s a look at my belly then, and now:

1sttri12ndtri1

3 Responses to “Babies are small”


  1. 1 Danielle April 30, 2009 at 2:01 am

    Mollie you are too cute! I love that you even have the same clothes on 🙂 But the real question is, Have you practiced using a stroller yet? I have a few bottles of wine I’m wiling to lend if you need them (much classier than Icehouse).

  2. 2 Coach April 30, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    This is Mollie. She lost 15 lbs. and 3 inches in 3 weeks by using the amazing Rolly Exercize Ball just 3 minutes a day.

  3. 3 Kendra May 1, 2009 at 3:18 am

    I love your baby matchbox car. And binkie is a perfectly acceptable name for a pacifier.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Twitter Updates


