Things I want for Baby Ottenhoff

The past few weeks, I’ve started to shift away from thinking about pregnancy toward thinking about what happens after. Since, as they say in Juno, pregnancy can often lead to an infant.

We’re working more on clearing out the baby room, and as it gets emptier, I’m able to imagine more and more what it will be like to have a little baby hanging around. I picture him sleeping in his crib, hanging out in his daddy’s arms, wrapped up in big soft blankets, hanging out in his little carrier, swinging in his little swing, bouncing around in a little jumper thingy (when do they stop being tiny lumps of things and start bouncing?). I picture him laughing, scooping the dog poop, going to school, graduating, getting married.

Anyhow, picturing the little guy makes me think about all the things I want for him. So here’s an incomplete list, to date:

  1. I want him to be healthy. Like, 100th percentile, all organs in place and functioning, blood flowing, lungs breathing, 10 digits on hands and feet healthy. (Although, a friend I know through work had a son with 6 digits on each hand. It would be kind of awesome to say to my baby, “You have 6 fingers on your left hand. Someone was looking for you.”)
  2. I want him to forgive me for using him as my diaper-changing, lump-bathing, midnight-feeding, spit-up wiping guinea pig.
  3. I want him to have a sense of humor, and a big baby laugh.
  4. I want him to have Wally’s athletic ability and grace. And if he gets my grace, I want him to be a fast healer and to come with a lifetime supply of band-aids.
  5. I want him to love books and reading as much as I do. I want him to beg for one more book to be read to him at night.
  6. I want him to know both sets of grandparents equally well. Because of proximity, he’ll see Gramps (isn’t my dad just born to be a “Gramps”) and Mama D often. I want him to get at least every-other-week visits with Grandma Ott and Coach. (We’ll have to let Wee V come up with a name for Coach, as it has to be equal parts strange and funny. One of Wally’s grandmas is called “Donno” because Wally’s oldest cousin, Adam, called her that when he was learning to speak because she liked donuts. Coach likes chocolate, his bike named “Yettibear”, and Rob and Big. He could be called anything!)
  7. He’s blessed to have 5 great grandparents. I want him to get as much time as possible in their arms, basking in their warmth and wisdom.
  8. I want him to have his Uncle Joe’s laugh, Auntie LizE’s calm and easygoingness, Uncle Joel’s natural smarts, Auntie Jane’s charm, Uncle (Earl) Joe’s level head, and Auntie Liz’s pluckiness, scrappiness, and general sillyness. And I want him to know “Uncle Joe” is not one word (since all he has is a Joe, Joe and Joel, but I’m not sure how to teach that).
  9. I want him to be best friends with Jane and Joel’s little guy, who’s making his debut at the end of this month.
2 Responses to “Things I want for Baby Ottenhoff”


  1. 1 Danielle Mayberry May 12, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Mollie, Your writing is so heartwarming. It is truly the perfect way to start my day. I know all of your wishes for Baby O will come true, as he (or she) will have you and Wally to guide and raise it.

  2. 2 mhb May 12, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    About #1, though: wouldn’t he be required to bonk the person on the head after they said that to him? I guess that’s where the hoped-for athletic ability would come in handy. 🙂

    Great list!


Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Twitter Updates


