Baby Wally’s Birthday Present for Mommy

I read a few weeks ago that I’d start to feel kicks anytime, so I’ve been waiting. I felt little flutters here and there, little pops, light taps. I was never sure if I was feeling kicks, as it always felt a little familiar, like something I’ve felt before. Different moms described it to me as butterflies, popcorn, and a feeling like gas. (Sometimes, when I thought I felt it, I’d burp and it would stop. So much for feeling the first kick!)

So I was never certain. Until last weekend. Suddenly during a meeting I felt 3 sweet little taps to the belly. The best way to describe it is to say it felt like I have a little tiny human being inside me that decided to give me a nice little kick.

But seriously, it feels how you would expect it to feel. Like a muscle twitch from the inside. It feels sudden. Like maybe it even surprised the baby that he did it. And it feels nice, a little reminder (as if I need it), saying, I’m here! I’m growing so fast! I have hair and finger nails. I like to suck my thumb already! (This is true. We have an ultrasound picture to prove it.)

BabyThumb

And since then I’ve felt him kicking every day, here and there. The doctor said on Tuesday it would be another few weeks until I felt kicking all the time, and that Wally would be able to feel it in about 4-5 weeks.

My birthday was Thursday. I joked that the baby was giving me 28 kicks for my birthday, as he was pretty kicky that day. Then at night we were watching “So You Think You Can Dance,” and the baby decided to get into it. I was laying with my hand on my stomach, and I felt a good kick—so good I felt it from the outside! I told Wally to put his hand in that spot, and the baby gave us 4 more for Wally to feel. Wal was so surprised, and insists we have another little soccer player in the making.

About 10 minutes later the baby kicked me so hard my hand flew off my stomach and it startled me! Maybe Wally’s onto something with this soccer baby thing. Or football kicker. Or ninja. Yes, I like the idea of my little ninja baby.

2 Responses to “Baby Wally’s Birthday Present for Mommy”


  1. 1 Coach June 8, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    Hey Mols,
    Definitely a soccer player! I think it will be a kid that can’t stand still. He’ll probably be running and dancing around all day. He will be driving you crazy and you’ll be saying,”Small Wall, Cool it. Can’t you stand still” And he will say,”Ma, I can’t. My feet are just so happy I can’t stop them.”

  2. 2 Auntie Liz June 11, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Ooooo… ninja… I love it! I think he’ll be a ninja and rather than using num chucks, swords or hand claws his choice of weapon will be a soccer ball. He will shake and bake all around his enemies until they are dizzy and then he will head butt the soccer ball right in their noggin! And his catch phrase will be “I don’t sleep… I wait.” (but don’t worry Mollie, he’ll sleep for you!)


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Twitter Updates


