Halfway update: My kicking basketball belly

I’m at 22 weeks, so I’m now more than halfway through the pregnancy. Before I was pregnant, I was certain I would love every moment of it, and that it would be one of the best times of my life. The first few months, with the strange get-that-tuna-away-from-me, mmm-cantaloupe-ew-gross-cantaloupe mental stomach monster proved that theory wrong. But we were so excited, so full of hope, so ready to share our joy with people that it was worth it. Although thank you for not asking me if it was worth it in the moment I was gagging at the sight of thai chicken leftovers that had tasted so good the day before, as I may have had a more selfish answer.

And I have to say now, since food aversion is a distant memory, I have really been loving being pregnant. I love hearing the heartbeat at the doctor. I loved waiting for the baby to kick. I loved the anticipation of whether we were having a boy or girl. And I currently love feeling him kick every day, and sharing it with other people now that he’s kicking hard enough on occassion for them to feel, too. In fact, if you want to feel the baby kick, just let me know. If you’re an arms-length away and he starts up, I’m more than happy to introduce the two of you!

I’m finally at the point of pregnancy where people know that I’m pregnant. In the last month people who didn’t know went from glancing at my belly casually during conversation and ignoring what might be a baby but what might also be a very unfortunate centralized weight-gaining experience, to congratulating me and asking when I’m due. I’ve switched to almost all maternity clothes. And I’ve caught my reflection accidentally in a window here and there and stopped myself in my tracks. Man, that girl’s really pregnant!

Also, I’m slightly fascinated and slightly appalled at some of the things that are happening to my body:

  • I’m steadily gaining an average of a pound a week. One week I went down a pound, and the following week went up 3. Yowsa! (But Small Wall loves icecream and really really really wanted it, and how could I say no? He is just so cute.)
  • My belly button is slowly disappearing. I’ve got a shallow indent about now…enough to hold only a raindrop or two.
  • Just today I noticed the beginnings of that faint black line that runs in a straight line down through some pregnant ladies’ belly buttons. (It’s called “linea negra” and it’s from hormones. As a side note, I just looked that up in Google, and other moms amuse me. “I got black line on my belly” and “Does every pregnant woman get black lines on ‘there’ belly?” were two forum questions that came up. Grammar much, future moms? Did you ask your unborn baby what to type? My favorite was, “I have a black line, don’t tell me it’s linea negra because that’s just black line in Spanish.” A rose by any other name would smell as sweet, lady. Sorry, that’s just what it’s called.)

As a side note, Wally V is kicking so hard at the moment that I can see my whole belly moving. I think he’s telling me to wrap it up! Here’s a current comparison, since we’re halfway, of 1 week pregnant vs. halfway.

IMG_26651sttri1

8 Responses to “Halfway update: My kicking basketball belly”


  1. 1 Danielle Mayberry June 29, 2009 at 10:15 am

    I say feed Small Wall all the ice cream he wants. Love the comparison picture… This is just the bright spot I needed this morning 🙂

  2. 2 MM & Grandpa June 29, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    How did this happen–where has the time gone! Half-way??? Well, as usual whether 2mo. or 4 1/2 mos. you look beautiful! Now starts the count-down! We all anticipate the next blog and yes, if you want ice cream–eat ice cream!!

  3. 3 Auntie Deb June 29, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    I have to say, I felt great when I was pregnant. Eat the ice cream!

  4. 4 Coach June 29, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Mollie, Are you Pregnant?

  5. 5 Auntie Liz June 29, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I felt him! I felt him! I felt him! He loves me…

  6. 6 Mama D June 29, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    It’s all getting so real now, isn’t it??? I can’t wait to be a Grandma and see you as a mother.

  7. 7 mhb July 1, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    I’m looking forward to geeking out at Silver Lake when I get to feel Wee Vee kick, so I’m glad you’re so cool with sharing that excitement! Yippee for Wee Vee!

  8. 8 MoDLin July 2, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Hey, there’s protein in ice cream – go for it! You look wonderful in the pcs. Enjoy the second half!


Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Twitter Updates


