One last baby-free getaway

Call it what you will–a babymoon, staycation, foodcation (something Wally and I invented where you eat whatever you want from wherever you want)–last weekend, Wally and I took one last baby-free weekend away from home in Chicago. It was a blast, and in many ways not unlike other trips we’ve taken there. We saw the sites, ate a ton of good food, and did some shopping.
But a lot was different also. We took the bus a few places to keep the dogs from barking. Wally shopped for himself and I couldn’t do the same, considering I’ve outgrown even maternity clothes (seriously, Small Wal keeps trying to peek out at the world by pushing my shirt out), so I shopped for Small Wal. I bought him an unbelievably cute “I love Daddy” onesie. Random passers by congratulated us (that’s the thing about this baby–he makes his own good news announcement).
Like Wally and I have found ourselves doing often, we kept thinking of how different this trip would be next year. Either we’d have a sitter, or we’d have a lot more gear and a schedule run by a crawling, babbling, diaper-wearing little dude. Oh, man, our lives are really about to change.
It was a great weekend. It reminded me of our most recent Chicago weekend, where we did one of those photo booth mashups. The booth took a picture of Wally and then of me, and then it mashed our faces together to show us what our future son would look like. Usually they turn out ugly, with buggy eyes or bushy eyebrows. But our little 8 year old Wally V is a stud! (Okay, the jean jacket’s a little nerdy, but he’s a doll!) Then again, this is coming from his mom, so I may be biased. Here’s our little dude, 8 years from now, according to the great Dave and Busters:

5 Responses to “One last baby-free getaway”


  1. 1 Auntie Liz August 28, 2009 at 10:41 am

    Next year when you go to Chicago I’ll babysit! Let me know what day and I’ll circle it on my 2010 calendar and put a check mark by it!

  2. 2 Kendra August 28, 2009 at 11:00 am

    It will be so funny to see if in 8 years he really looks like that picture. I totally want to do one of those- No Dave and Busters around here though. I honestly can’t imagine you too big for maternity clothes- but I remember with Ethan I grew out of all my maternity clothes. Luckily I had a REALLY tall friend who let me borrow all her XL’s for the last month. Brian and I’s last real getaway was to Chicago (to visit you!). It’s good you know it will be different, I was so naive. I mean I had no clue and I wish I would’ve gone to just a couple more movies before the first one made his appearance. Now I need a foodcation!

  3. 3 gloria August 28, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I too would like to see what Wally looks like in 8 years.
    I wonder the little boy in this photo doesn’t have either of your; eyebrows, eyes or smile.

    I wonder if Jack and I had our photos taken if the little girl at age 8 that popped up would look like either of our girls?

  4. 4 Melissa Kreplin August 28, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    So Funny! Rob and I had one of these done and it was hilarious! I don’t recall if we got to pick gender or not, anyway our picture was of a little girl and it was oh so scary! She came out with Robs facial hair and my long hair!! We have saved it on the chance that one of these times we get a girl to show her 🙂

  5. 5 Danielle August 28, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    So glad you enjoyed your weekend. I can’t wait to see this bigger belly you keep talking about… I am amazed that your baby mush photo is actually cute, any I’ve seen would convince me to never had children if that’s what it was going to look like 🙂


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Twitter Updates


