Am I nervous?

Now that we’re only 7 weeks away, people have been asking me over and over the same question: Are you nervous?

If they’re talking about labor and delivery, the honest answer as of now is that I feel nothing. (Let’s hope that continues through the entire labor and delivery process…with the right drugs, it just might!) I haven’t spent any time thinking about the experience because honestly, I have no idea what to even think could happen. I know of too many people who have had different labor experiences to think I have any way of anticipating how mine will be.

I’ve read about women creating a “birthing plan.” Who are these women? And how clean are their houses? How many lists do they need to get through the day? Seriously, I like to describe myself as “detail-oriented” and “organized,” but let’s face it: I’m a bit of a control freak. However, I could never write out a plan for how I want my labor to go. That would be like asking a 5 year old to plan out which college they’d like to go to when they graduate high school.

My birthing plan is as follows: Enter hospital with baby in belly. Leave hospital with baby in arms. My labor will happen as it happens. If the doctor suggests this or that, my answer is, sure, go ahead. My guess is that they know more about what’s best for the baby, as they’ve done this a few more times than me. (Although, I suppose I should modify my “birthing plan” a bit: I did think that I’d really like to remember to bring a headband. I want my hair pulled away from my face. Yes, this is what I think of. So, enter hospital with baby in belly. Put on a headband. Leave hospital with baby in arms.)

I have wondered if I’ll be angry or wimpy or serious or a champ. I’d really like to be a champ. I’d like Wally, after it’s done, to tell everyone, Mollie was really a champ. And I’d like all the nurses to walk the halls and say, did you see that girl in there? She was really the champ of all champs. Of all the birthing moms I’ve witnessed, she was the champiest. And the doctor will chime in, “And how.” (Does anyone really say that? I like it. I think we should all work on bringing that phrase back.)

Otherwise, I’ve decided not to really think about labor until after our “Childbirth Express” class this weekend. That should give me a better idea of how it typically works, what could go right and wrong, how to know when it’s time, and what to expect at the hospital. I’m sure I’ll be writing about that experience next!

By the way, it’s about time we start taking bets on when you think Wally V will decide to make his grand entrance into our lives:

9 Responses to “Am I nervous?”


  1. 1 Mary HB September 14, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    I think he’ll be an election day baby: November 3!

  2. 3 Wally Four September 14, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I’m hoping you’re a champ too honey!

  3. 4 Jenilee Lange Simpson September 14, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Hey Mollie- Great blog.. I know we havent spoke since high school, but it looks as though your doing very well, and ready for baby boy!! Congrats. Just wanted 2 say that being a mother now for 6 years has absoultly changed my life, and it is wonderful!! Also, as far as labor, its a real “doosey” but you will never believe the amount of strength you will have for your “entire world” the baby. Good luck and take care. xo Jlee
    P.S. No matter how long or short, easy or hard you will be a Champ or maybe even the champiest 🙂

  4. 5 Jane September 14, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    I love your “birthing plan”. Genius. Wait until you learn the 100 different ways to breathe….i don’t know who comes up with this stuff! Thanks for continuing to make me laugh! 🙂
    Cant wait for W5.

  5. 6 Liz September 14, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    After the birth I will say proudly that you are no longer wimpy, wimpy, wimpy… you are now hefty, hefty, hefty!!!! Goooooo Mollie! Give me a p… P! Give me a u… U! Give me a s… S! Give me a h… H! What’s that spell??? PUSH! PUSH! PUSH! You sure you don’t want me in there with you guys???

  6. 7 Mama May September 15, 2009 at 6:02 am

    You are alraady a champ in so many ways so just be yourself and you will be fine!

  7. 8 Mama D September 15, 2009 at 8:05 am

    That’s my girl. Always prepared. Maybe your headband should say “CHAMP!!!!”

  8. 9 coach September 16, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    WeeVee will definitely be early. I don’t make predictions unless I do my research and I checked and your doctor is leaving for Jamaica on Friday at 9:30 AM so you are definitely having that baby before then.
    I love the headband idea. It says “I’m ready to do work.” But I would suggest a Red, White, and Blue headband and also have a matching small one ready to throw on SmalWal when he pops out. And I’m sure you will be twittering the whole birth so that would look really cool on the pictures.
    And don’t worry Mol, you will be a CHAMP and so will WeeVee. I’m worried about Q.


Leave a Reply

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Twitter Updates


